How To Delete Your Twitter Account? [All You Need To Know]

Deyan Georgiev
Deyan Georgiev

Updated · Jul 29, 2022

SHARE:

Techjury is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.

You find Twitter is taking too much time of your daily life. You are fed up with fake news and misinformation. You think that 280 characters is way too limiting.

Whatever the reason you are ready to say bye-bye, birdie.

Not sure what to do? Don’t worry, we got you.

Continue reading to find out how to delete your Twitter account

How To Delete Twitter Account

The social media platform doesn't allow you to directly delete your account. First, you have to deactivate it.

There are different ways to do that.

Below we will show you how to deactivate Twitter from a browser and on a few types of devices. 

On Desktop

In order to deactivate your Twitter account do the following:

  • Go to twitter.com.
  • Log in, if you are not already.
  • On the left click on More.

           Twitter menu

  • Click on Settings and privacy.

           Settings and Privacy

  • On Your Account click on Deactivate your account.

           deactivating a Twitter account

  • Read the text and click on Deactivate.

           Deactivation

  • Enter your password and again click on Deactivate.

          entering password and deactivating

  • Ta-daa - you have successfully deactivated your account!

          Successful deactivation message

On iPhone

Okay, now let’s tackle the devices.

Here’s how to delete your Twitter account on iPhone:

  • Open the Twitter app.
  • On the top left corner tap on your profile picture
  • Scroll down to Setting and privacy and tap on it.

          settings and privacy on mobile

  • Tap on Your account.

          your account

  • Tap on Deactivate Account.

           deactivate account

  • Scroll down, read the text and tap on Deactivate.

          deactivation information

  • Enter your password and tap on Deactivate once more.
  • Tap on Yes, Deactivate. Caution, though - you really should read the text and measure the risks.

           How To Delete Twitter Account - confirm deactivating the account

  • You'll receive a confirmation message. All that's left is to click "Got it"

Say hello to more free time, as you’re leaving Twitter

On Android

But what about other phones?

In order to deactivate Twitter mobile on Android, do the following:

  • Open the Twitter app.
  • On the top left corner tap on your profile picture.
  • Scroll down to Setting and privacy and tap on it.
  • Tap on Your account.
  • Choose Deactivate Account.
  • Scroll down, read the text and tap on Deactivate. 
  • Enter your password and again choose Deactivate.
  • Tap on Yes, Deactivate. 
  • Tap on Got it (did you?).

You have successfully quit Twitter. For now.

Deactivating vs. Deleting Your Twitter Account

The main difference between the two is that deactivating is reversible and deleting is permanent.

When you deactivate Twitter you get 30 days to change your mind. During that time your account is essentially frozen. You don’t lose followers. However, your “handle” and tweets won’t be visible on the platform. 

Completing the process is where it gets kind of tricky. Using social media is addicting and we spend a lot of time on it. You will have to learn how to “abstain” from logging in on Twitter. 

To be on the safe side you can get rid of your profile completely.

After the 30 days are up, Twitter permanently deletes your account. So, choose wisely.

How To Reactivate Your Twitter Account

It is really simple and easy.

Within the 30 days grace period either log in from a browser or from the app. Then just click or tap on Yes, reactivate. 

Reactivating Twitter

That is it. Resume tweeting. 

It might take some time for everything to reappear, however, so you might need to have some patience.

What Happens After You Delete A Twitter Account?

You would finally get a life.

Kidding.

Jokes aside, when you shut down Twitter all of your DMs, tweets, likes, and profile information are removed. Also, other people can now use your username.

After you delete your account it can’t be restored.

If you want to go back to using Twitter you have to make a new one. Say goodbye to your social media fame!

Wrap Up 

There you have it - you now know how to delete your Twitter account

Just make sure it’s what you really want. Deactivating is a great choice if you just need a break. You’ll have 30 days to come back.

If you have decided to go ahead and delete Twitter for good, congrats! 

But what next? Why stop there?

Ever consider deleting yourself from the internet?

SHARE:

Deyan Georgiev

Deyan Georgiev

Deyan has been fascinated by technology his whole life. From the first Tetris game all the way to Falcon Heavy. Working for TechJury is like a dream come true, combining both his passions – writing and technology. In his free time (which is pretty scarce, thanks to his three kids), Deyan enjoys traveling and exploring new places. Always with a few chargers and a couple of gadgets in the backpack. He makes mean dizzying Island Paradise cocktails too.

Leave your comment

Your email address will not be published.