25+ Facebook Ad Revenue Statistics You Should Know in 2024

Reading time: 20 min read
Muninder Adavelli
Written by
Muninder Adavelli

Updated · Jan 02, 2024

Muninder Adavelli
Digital Growth Strategist | Joined October 2021 | Twitter LinkedIn
Muninder Adavelli

Muninder Adavelli is a core team member and Digital Growth Strategist at Techjury. With a strong bac... | See full bio

Ivailo Ivanov
Edited by
Ivailo Ivanov

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Ivailo Ivanov
Content Writer | Joined October 2021
Ivailo Ivanov

If I was asked to describe myself using just a few words, I’d go with digital marketing expert, ex... | See full bio

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While Facebook has had a rough few years due to multiple legal troubles, political controversies, and massive layoffs, the platform remains one of the titans of Silicon Valley.

This social media saw a 16% jump in shares from their Q2 2022 numbers, earning $32 billion in revenue in the same period in 2023. With more than 3 billion users under their belt, Facebook is the perfect hunting ground for marketers.

Facebook swarms with ads, but do they generate enough revenue to be worth the hassle? Look at some of these Facebook ad revenue statistics to see.

Editor’s Choice

  • As of June 2023, Facebook has 3.03 billion monthly active users.
  • 90% of marketers cite Facebook as their most essential social media strategy.
  • Over 200 million small businesses have Facebook pages. 
  • Facebook generated $135.94 billion in ad revenue in 2022.
  • People have downloaded Facebook over 5 billion times.
  • Over 36.7% of the world’s population uses Facebook monthly.
  • 70% of Internet consumers are active on at least one Meta platform.
  • Over 1 billion Stories are posted daily across Facebook apps.
  • Over 72% of Facebook users also use YouTube, WhatsApp, and Instagram.
  • About 70% of American adults use Facebook
  • On average, users spend 19.7 hours a month on Facebook. 

Facebook Ad Revenue Stats for 2023

One of the main reasons Facebook has over 200 million business accounts is its wide audience range. As a result, running ads on the platform can deliver excellent results for marketers and businesses. 

Here’s a detailed look at how much businesses can benefit from Facebook ads: 

1. Facebook generated $135.94 billion in ad revenue in 2022.

(Oberlo) 

Facebook ad revenue stats for 2021 show that the coronavirus pandemic has crippled many industries and placed numerous businesses on hold, as reflected in the social media marketing revenue.

The platform generated $135.94 billion in ad revenue in 2022. However, in 2023, the company showed stronger-than-expected results. Bolstered by a rebound in ads after a post-pandemic plunge in advertising activities on the platform, the company reported an 11% increase in revenue in Q2 of 2023.

As of June 2023, the company showed $32 billion in revenue within the year's second quarter.

The world’s AI market size reached $136.6 billion in 2022. Never late to any trend, Facebook now aims to invest strongly in more infrastructure and data centers to support AI efforts' development.

Due to AI's growing influence and potential in tech, one of Facebook’s current projects is its AI-powered ad automation tool suite, Advantage.

2. Facebook had 3.03 billion new active users per month.

(Associated Press, Forbes) 

As of June 30, 2023, Facebook had 3.03 billion active users.

Almost every demographic uses Facebook as a critical component of their social media strategy. On the platform, users can post photos and comments. They can also use it to get up-to-date news, create live videos, organize events, and make money from their content.

 Facebook had 3.03 billion new active users per month.

Unfortunately, the tech titan received massive criticism in the past few years, primarily due to how it handled its user base’s data. 

It also garnered a reputation for being the worst spreader of fake news on the internet was the platform.

3. Mobile is responsible for 94% of Facebook's ad revenue. 

(The Social Shepherd)

Mobile is responsible for 94% of Facebook's ad revenue

Facebook advertising campaigns that aren't mobile-friendly are doomed to failure. Due to mobile marketing dominance, users see fewer specifically targeted ads because there is less access to app data. Current data shows that US businesses spend 11.2% of their marketing funds on mobile marketing.

94% of Facebook’s user bases access the platform using mobile devices. This number also checks out with the rise of mobile devices for internet surfing. 80% of internet users use their handheld devices for their web transactions.

The platform can still increase income if it can determine how to make advertisements more effective while spending less money.

4. As of 2023, Facebook has 10 million active advertisers.

(Social Pilot) 

Advertising was never the primary initiative behind creating Facebook. However, people flocking to Facebook generated the concept of using valuable data for profit. 

Registering and interacting with the platform creates data that Facebook can use to understand your likes and interests. Facebook users upload 2.46 million pieces of content every 60 seconds, providing the company with the necessary information to entice more advertisers to consumer behavior.

In Q1 2019, Facebook had only 7 million active advertisers on its books. Fast-forward to Q1 2023, and over 3 million more have jumped on the bandwagon.

5. In 2022, Facebook's total annual revenue was $116.6 billion.

(Statista, Search Engine Land, Outlook India)

Facebook's annual revenue in 2022 amounted to roughly $116.6 billion, down from around $117.9 billion in 2021. While a difference of less than one billion may not be that big of a deal, this slump in revenue is Facebook’s first-ever decline in revenue in its almost two-decade run.

Experts attribute this decline to weaker advertising demand on the platform as Tiktok and other rising apps. TikTok capped its Q4 figures with 1.6 billion users on the platform.

In recent months, the platform veered towards more video-dominant content due to its popularity with advertisers. 93% of companies gain new customers from video content.

Following the success of Tiktok, the platform has doubled on promoting the creation and monetization of Facebook Reels, its short-form video counterpart. Likely due to shorter consumer attention spans, short-form videos are 2.5 times more engaging than long-form ones.

📈 Market Trends: Apple’s decision to push for more transparency measures amidst user privacy concerns on their devices has also made a dent in Facebook’s revenue stream.

Steve Jobs’ brainchild has over 1 billion active iPhone users worldwide. With their new transparency policies, Facebook can no longer track iOS users’ information across external apps without their consent.

This significant policy change from Appl cost Facebook an estimated $10 billion in revenue.

6. Over 90% of marketers cite Facebook as their business's most preferred social media platform.

(Sprout Social) 

Due to Facebook’s extensive data tracking and its massive user base, Facebook is a treasure trove for marketers. 90% of these marketers actively use Facebook advertising to promote their businesses.

Facebook's audience may be easily micro-targeted based on their general interests, purchasing history, job titles, and liked pages of businesses and personalities, making it simple to target users precisely.

7. Video ads have the lowest cost-per-click (CPC) of $1.2 compared to other ad formats.

(Backlinko) 

Cost-per-click is the amount you pay for every click your ads get on Facebook. For businesses running conversion ad campaigns, having the lowest cost per click possible is crucial because it ensures you spend the least money for every sale you make. 

Imagine having a CPC of $4.15 for a $15 product, whereas your competition sells the same product at the same price but at a lower CPC of $1.2. The competition is earning more money on that specific product than you do. 

✅ Pro Tip: To have as many page visits as you like within your budget, optimize Facebook's CPC to have the perfect audience click on your site.

The platform also boasts competitive stats for conversions. 9.21% of Facebook ads convert, making it the highest converting platform online.

Campaigns on Meta platforms also deliver the highest ROIs compared to their competitors. Facebook ad revenue stats suggest using videos to get the best CPC rates for your conversion ads. These can be achieved via Facebook reels, video uploads, and live streaming on the platform.

8. The average click-through rate (CTR) of Facebook ads across all industries is 0.9%.

(LinkedIn) 

A click-through rate is a measurement in percentage that tells advertisers how frequently people click on their ads. Simply put, it is the ratio of clicks to impressions. 

Your industry, audience, ad type, and campaign objective are some variables that affect the amount of engagement. Say your ad gets 700 views on Facebook, but only 55 people click. Then your CTR is 55/700 x 100, or 7.85%. 

When your CTR rate is high, your ads are convincing and compelling. 

9. The average Facebook user checks out 12 ads per month.

(Hootsuite) 

The average Facebook user checks out 12 ads per month

Men click on ten ads per month, whereas women click on an average of 14.

Facebook video ads are seen 75% of the time by users between 18 and 24. 71% of consumers believe the Facebook video ads they view are essential. 

You can check with your Facebook Ads Manager how many ads you click monthly. 

General Facebook Ad Revenue Statistics

In addition to the most curious Facebook ad revenue stats for 2023, here is more information that may surprise you.

To know why Facebook is the biggest social media platform, you should learn about its active users. 

10. Millennials and early-Gen Zers are Facebook’s biggest demographics.

(Oberlo)

Teens used to dominate Facebook. However, they have since moved on to other apps. Youtube, for example, boasts that 95% of its users are aged 18-29. This trend is similar to other apps such as Tiktok and Snapchat.

Regardless, Millennials and Gen Z are still Facebook’s biggest demographics. They’re the market's most targeted demographic due to their tech-savviness and attitudes about tech and spending.

11. Americans over the age of 12 to 34 are the most significant users of Facebook.

(Statista) 

Although almost the entirety of the US population (95%) knows about Facebook, only about two-thirds of American adults use the platform.

The percentage of Americans who use Facebook varies by age. Facebook marketing stats show that 46.1% of people aged 12 to 34 are the most significant platform users. 31.8% of those aged 35 to 54 are on Facebook, while 22.2% of people 55 and older are Facebook users.

About 71% of all Americans use the platform, mainly to rely on the latest news, updates, and events. 

📉 Market Trends: Social media is a staple for almost 60% of the world’s population, and newer ones have popped up, pandering to younger audiences’ attention.

Despite still going strong, Facebook risks fading into the background as newer social media apps have popped up. While the platform was the cultural touchstone of the 2010s, many younger users have moved on to Instagram, Twitter, and Tiktok.

12. 54% of marketers consider Facebook the top platform for B2B marketing.

(Hootsuite)

Facebook dominates all other platforms in the size of its user base. While LinkedIn still holds the number one spot for B2B marketing via social media, Facebook still lives up to its reputation as the most wide-reaching social media on the internet.

An air-tight Facebook B2B strategy for marketing on Facebook help to efficiently tap into the platform’s massive treasure trove of data to:

  • Reach a broader user base
  • Network with other B2B businesses 
  • Drive traffic to your site
  • Keep audiences hooked and engaged
  • Raise brand awareness
  • Keep up with the latest trends

With Facebook, businesses can quickly generate leads to put your business front and center of prospective business partners and potential clients.

13. 98% of B2C businesses are on Facebook.

(Hootsuite)

An effective B2C marketing campaign can help your business gain and retain customers faster. The line between business and personal on Facebook is fragile. This line makes it perfect for most marketing strategies on social media platforms.

Drawing in an audience for your business becomes more accessible with the help of Facebook. However, keep in mind that Facebook is also a cutthroat community for advertisers and marketers. The competition is vast, and finding your place under the sun requires effort and a potent marketing strategy.

14. Over 200 million small businesses have Facebook pages.

(Business DIT)

Facebook is good for far more than just ads. People use social media to search for services, restaurants, businesses, etc. It also helps your credibility as a business if you have a highly engaged page on the platform.

You can also connect with customers through Facebook. Positive social media experiences are proven to lead to recommendations, and that’s a word-of-mouth marketing strategy right here.

It will only take up to 30 minutes to set up a small business Facebook page that can revamp your social media presence. 

15. Analysts predict a 9.7% growth in Facebook’s ad revenue by 2025.

(Oberlo)

There are projections of a 9.7% increase by 2025, generating revenue of $187.35 billion. Analysts predict that by 20x26, Facebook’s ad revenues will surpass $200 billion, with an 8.3% annual increase.

Remember that the forecast doesn’t include how Instagram shops or reels rank. By the end of the decade, these products by Facebook could add up to hundreds of millions of dollars. 

Ad revenue is the income apps, and social media platforms earn through advertising. Facebook has generated quite a few numbers throughout the years.

Facebook is planning to offer new types of monetization to increase revenues. For example, 

16. 71% of consumers and 65% of marketers plan to use it the most in 2023.

(Sprout Social)

The Sprout Social Index found it to be the top platform for consumers and marketers. As 71% of consumers and 65% of marketers plan to use it the most in 2023, Facebook still stands as the biggest social media platform across the internet. 

Facebook is now a requirement if you want your business to expand significantly. 

17. 97.5% of Facebook’s revenue comes from ads.

(Four Week MBA) 

The platform’s primary and most substantial source of income is digital advertising. Facebook's income sources include in-app payments, experimental internet services, and enterprise software.

Ad revenues accounted for 97.5% of the total revenues for Facebook, with $113.64 billion in revenues, a decrease compared to $115.65 billion in revenues for 2021.

Facebook sure knows its users—maybe even a bit too well. In many ways, the platform is the kingdom of targeted ads. Unfortunately, the precision of Facebook’s targeting has also faced criticism from its consumers, with many calling the ads they get “creepy.”

With many digital natives more aware of the implications of using their personal data on social media, they’re less impressed with Facebook’s tendency to target consumers. Moreover, with the platform’s involvement with high-profile data breaches, more people have become wary of the platform.

💡Did You Know? In 2018, Facebook was at the front and center of two scandals, the infamous Cambridge Analytica scandal and the lesser-known Nametest Breach, the platform’s biggest quiz app.

In the wake of the Cambridge Analytica controversy, the platform launched a bounty for white-hat hackers to find vulnerabilities within the website.

One of the participants found a massive red flag showing that Nametest exposed data to any third-party site that requested it. This discovery showed that the site had compromised 120 million records since 2016.

18. The US and Canada significantly contribute to Facebook’s ad revenue. 

(Oberlo) 

Facebook users in the US and Canada are the most significant contributors to its growing ad revenues.

The average user spent $48.85 on ads, over five times the average amount spent by global users, which registered at $9.62, all in just the first quarter this year. Coming in second are users in Europe, who paid $15.51.

These numbers show how other, more developed economies, like the US and Canada, could successfully expand their markets using Facebook marketing.

19. The number of ad impressions has grown by 30%.

(Hootsuite) 

Impressions are the number of times an ad has been viewed. Impressions give marketers a more accurate reading of how many people saw your ad. Moreover, it provides critical data about how your ads are delivered and viewed. 

20. 24.2% of marketers are using paid ads.

(Hootsuite)

Paid advertising can provide an instant boost to your Facebook ad sales. It’s also more precise when it comes to audience targeting.

More precise targeting also guarantees higher conversion rates. Having your ads tailored to a specific audience will lead to more clicks.

Facebook ads are a cost-efficient way to reach an audience. Additionally, they can adjusted to your budget.

💡Did You Know? One of the biggest perks of paid marketing on Facebook is the “Sponsored Message” feature. This handy feature allows businesses to send offers and updates directly to people on the platform.

Considering that around 75% of higher-income earners use Facebook, businesses can use the platform to reach out directly to well-to-do consumers.

21. Small businesses spend between $200 and $1,500 monthly on Facebook ads.

(WebFX)

There’s no minimum monthly ad cost; it all depends on how much your budget is. That’s one of the more considerable benefits of Facebook as an advertising platform. It not only gives you broad reach, but it can also be highly budget-friendly.

Facebook advertisements are a valuable tool for businesses of any size, and if you correctly personalize them to your industry, people will start to show up shortly. 

22. The average CPC in 2023 was $0.9.

(WebFX)   

The cost per click in the first quarter of 2022 was $0.62, compared to $0.52 in the first quarter of 2021.

As of April 2023, marketers should expect to pay  $0.94 per click.

However, Facebook ad revenue statistics show that wasn't quite the case, as the average price decreased.

23. The cost per thousand impressions (CPM) as of 2023 is $12.07.

(WebFX) 

This sounds reasonable.

You must ensure that your Facebook ads' CPM is optimized for the best conversion rate if you want a large portion of your target audience to view your ad.

The majority of ads with a high CPM are those that are sensitive, positive, and relevant. 

24. Facebook is the world’s third-most visited website.

(SemRush) 

Facebook is the world’s third-most visited website

Only Google and YouTube currently receive more traffic. In recent years, Google and Youtube marketers have faced challenges like high competition and cost. Since many compete for the same audience and keywords, the cost of ads has increased while returns on ad spend have decreased.

On the other hand, marketers investing in  Facebook ads get you:

  • Robust analytics
  • Micro-targeting
  • More organic reaching posts
  • Remarketing to those you’ve already interacted with

Facebook and Google are no competition in terms of visits. Google may have a broader database, but Facebook has more stored data that target specific audiences. 

Although third on the list, more people have revealed that they prefer using Facebook to remain current on global happenings. 

25. About 46.7% of Facebook’s revenue comes from North America.

(Business of Apps, Statista) 

The US and Canada are the primary contributors to Facebook’s ad revenue. Facebook’s reach within the Canadian populace is about 77%. It is also the most popular social media platform in the country.

Facebook generated $135.94 billion in ad revenue in 2022, of which 46.7% came from North America.

Facebook Ad Types

There are numerous types of Facebook ads. Each is suited for a specific purpose. Certain ads appeal to a particular demographic. Check them out below for more details. 

Image Ads

As the name suggests, these ads use images to attract attention. People are visual creatures, so adding a photo to your ad guarantees higher engagement. Your image ads can be:

  • Single-image ads - Only include one image. The advertising objectives you can use with them are brand awareness, engagement, reach, and store traffic.
  • Carousel - This format includes up to 10 more images or videos with personal links for each. They suit brand awareness, conversions, reach, store traffic, and traffic advertising objectives.
  • Collection - This includes a cover image and a few product images or videos. With this format, people can interact with the ad, see more photos, and get more information about your product and service. You can rely on traffic, conversion, store traffic, or catalog sales here.

Video Ads

People nowadays would rather watch a short video than look at or read a lengthy post. Reports suggest that people remember video content better than other types of ads.

Videos also get shared more often. So, if you want optimal results, videos are your friend.

Slideshow Ads

In its most basic sense, a slideshow is a sequence of a few images. This Facebook ad format lets you combine videos, images, text, and sound and is perfect for telling a story.

Despite sluggish internet speeds, slideshow ads load fast, making it easier for people can view them. They are great ways to market to people for businesses without spending time and money on production.

Instant Experience

The format, which Facebook describes as a "full-screen, post-click interaction that helps you put your brand or products and services into focus on mobile," enables users to browse photographs and videos of your products. 

It proves helpful in addition to the other formats currently in use.

Bringing a few fun Facebook facts to your attention will help you avoid information overload and will be purely entertaining.

Fun Facebook Facts

There are so many fascinating facts about the tech giant. Here are some of the most interesting ones that are worth sharing.

1. Why is Facebook blue?

(OhFact!)

Although Artsy proclaimed blue the world’s favorite color, that’s not the reason behind Facebook’s blue skin. The actual reason is that Mark Zuckerberg is colorblind to red and green.

2. The “Awesome” button was the initial name of the “Like” button.

(WordStream)

Andrew Bosworth, one of the Facebook engineers, said he and his team fully supported the idea of the “Awesome” button. Zuckerberg, however, wasn’t as thrilled. They eventually settled on the “Like” option.

3. Because of Facebook, people have started using “friend” as a verb.

(CNN)

Shakespeare turned “elbow” into a verb, so what’s stopping Facebook? Because of the social platform, you can use “unfriend” and “like” as nouns. 

4. Al Pacino's face was on the original Facebook home page.

(Mashable)

Before its massive redesign in 2007, Facebook’s home page featured a man’s face. A binary code partly hid it, so his identity was hard to discover. David Kirkpatrick’s book, The Facebook Effect, solved the mystery. It turned out to be just the face of Al Pacino.

(Infostor.com)

The throne belongs to the Portuguese footballer. As of March 2023, he had 162 million followers. And you may even have five friends and barely keep up with them.

Final Thoughts

While many other websites have since tried to take their place, Facebook remains the king of all platforms for marketing. After all, having 3 million users under your belt is unmatched by any other platform. 

With its data-rich platform and amazing support for users and marketers alike, Facebook will likely thrive further in the coming years.

FAQs.


What is Facebook's annual revenue?

Facebook's annual revenue is not fixed because the value changes yearly. However, the latest data from 2022 shows the annual revenue for the year to be 116.6 billion compared to the previous year's $117.9 billion.

How much of Facebook's revenue is from advertising?

According to Facebook’s financial stats, the platform generates billions of dollars from ads, but this figure is not constant. Reports from 2022 say Facebook's ad revenue for the year was $135.9 billion, accounting for 97.5% of the company's revenue for 2022.

What is Mark Zuckerberg’s salary?

Mark Zuckerberg, the Facebook founder, and CEO, earns $1 per year as his base salary. Being the case since 2013, he requested that the board drop his $500,000 base salary annually so that other employees could get bonuses and proper wages.

Who advertises on Facebook?

Anyone can advertise on Facebook if they have a product or service. Currently, in 2023, according to Facebook ad revenue statistics, more than 10 million advertisers are actively using the platform.

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